Becoming a 21st-Century Smallholder

The Forget-me-Not Cultivation Blog

The lesson I have thoroughly learnt, and wish to pass on to others, is to know the enduring happiness that the love of a garden gives. – Gertrude Jekyll

About four years ago I came across a book in the library called “21st-Centenary Smallholder:  From Window Boxes to Allotments: How To Go Back To The Land Without Leaving Home”.  It was written by Paul Waddington.

The title alone had my interest piqued so I checked the book out and took a gander at it.

It didn’t take me long to realise this book was rather inspirational.  For years I’d believed the only way I’d be able to become more self-sufficient and grow my own fruit and veg was by moving to the country and buying a place with loads of land, something that in all honesty I couldn’t ever afford.  I’d felt disheartened that I wouldn’t get the lifestyle I so…

View original post 934 more words

Leave a Reply

