Fudge Fiasco

GLAD IT SET IN THE END JEN HAVE A BLESSED DAY

My Make Do and Mend Year

In a slightly ill-judged effort, I tried to make fudge last week, whilst also trying to make scones and gift bags for the teachers at BigSmall’s school. It’s a recipe I have used before, but for some reason (too much rushing and a too small pan I think!) it failed to set. Even after 24hrs in the fridge, it was more like sticky toffee sauce than fudge.

Fudge fiasco1
So I did what I always do when I am in need of help, and asked Twitter!

The general consensus was to chuck it all back in the pan, with a splash of evaporated milk (I am not sure what purpose this served, or if it is indeed absolutely necessary, but we had a tin (only 3 months out of date..) languishing in the cupboard, so I added a bit. Then boil until it reaches 115C, and try again.
Fudge fiasco2
(Other suggestions included…

View original post 60 more words

Leave a Reply

